Bootcamp Day 13: Socializing that Media

[Oops! I was supposed to post this yesterday, yet here I find it, still sitting in my drafts. Well, up it goes then!]

Today we are charged with finalizing and starting to perhaps implement a social media strategy for the American Observer.

Last night we (my co-social media editor, Mimi Brown, and I) started brainstorming on certain things

  • What is a Social Media Editor anyway?
  • What do we want/need to do to the site in general to make it more “Socialized” ?
  • What can we do with all the individual stories that are going to be coming in today?
  • Who are we trying to attract? Where are we going to go to try to push this content?

Personally, that last one is the hardest for me, I think it’s that anti-marketing streak in me that balks at anything that even remotely resembles marketing, even if its not exactly that, since we’re not a commercial endeavor.

As for the other points, we came up with a lot of good ideas. We googled around trying to figure out what Social Media Editors do at other publications (seems to be flexible enough that I don’t feel so bad for not having a concrete idea myself).

We came up with ideas for interactive components for a lot of the stories which could be tweeted and facebooked in order to attract people to the site. For example: a quiz on “Do you have what it takes to be a backpack journalist?”, or a poll asking readers the max they would be wiling to pay per month for online news. Sadly, since this issue isn’t going live, I don’t think we’ll be able to bring any of these ideas to fruition, but we’ll see.

As for the site in general, a lot of folks have been talking about ways to make it more “social”, the limitation here will be our technical expertise (mine is next to nil). I think we’ll probably get a Twitter button, or a Follow Us on Facebook button, but integrating it with Facebook Connect (which I still don’t totally grasp as a concept) might be beyond our capabilites. But who knows, maybe there’s a super geek among us and I just don’t know it yet.

That’s all for today. Tomorrow’s crunch time. I’m crossing my fingers for everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bootcamp

Leave a Reply

